Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development, however, others think the social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the majority of countries, around the globe; target on a strong economy to improve their living standards whereas certain parts of society opine that economic growth can lead to the loss of some social values. Thence, this essay is going to shed some light on both pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, it is certainly true that countries with developed economy have been able to improve their citizens’ way of living in an easier and more thorough way, especially concerning with health care and education which are accounted important criteria for higher living standards. To exemplify, Obama care policy, with regards to health care in the United States, not only provides improved medical care for its all citizens, but always attempt to do a lot of research discovering better and cheap medicines as well. As a result, the senior citizens’ life expectancy is likely to increase thanks to treating serious diseases. Additionally, the improvement in education is also considered as a fruition of a proper investment from developed economy. It is apparent that an advanced education always brings a diversity of skills and broader mindset to the beneficiaries in the home countries.

Even so, every coin has two sides. There are still a few downsides of an overwhelming economic development. One of the most obvious impacts is of social relationships. This is mostly because an economic growth is directly proportional to long hours of hard work. This causes the fact that the hard-working parents spare lesser and lesser time for their children. The example of this case can be like African-American children getting involved in anti-social activities since their parents are too much occupied in work.

In conclusion, I think that economic development also has a few negative influences as compared to a lot of benefits it gives to its society, especially in terms of education and health care.