Most countries want to improve standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the undeniable fact has been presented that most of the countries focus their economic growth to raise living standards. Whereas, there is debate on the issue that such approach can lead to disappearance of important social values. This essay discusses both advantages and disadvantages associated with the issue before coming to empirical conclusion.

To begin with, country’s economy plays pivotal role in the development of living conditions. It means that sustainable economy which includes good job opportunities in all sectors, advanced developing industries and growing currency can bring benefits to countrymen providing the all luxuries of life. In other words the more money a country has, the better the residents live in terms of health, comfort and education. The clear example of this can be such counties like Singapore, Switzerland and Norway which are few of the richest countries in the world and at the same time have the highest life quality.

Nevertheless, the opponents opine that inculcating such living status may result in the humiliation of social values by imitating other cultures and attitudes blindly. To enumerate, the acceptance of other cultures and beliefs may lead to disappearance of their own and may result in imbalance in the society. For example, human values as kindness, honesty and sincerity will remain on the sideline and can increase the rate of divorces, crimes especially financial.

In fact, fast growing economy in no way can detrimentally affect the values of society. On the contrary, it will motivate society to progress and succeed in the world of high competition. Thus, people can provide themselves with high standards of living.

To sum up, the economic development has more pros than cons in terms of advanced living standards and people should not hamper their growth believing the myth that it may deform their social structure.