Many countries want to improve standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

From zero to one, or more specifically, from creating a blueprint to finishing the construction, now the process for developing a new business district may merely take as long as five years. As a citizen living in a metropolis, you will no longer surprise that a new skyscraper project begins construction just one month after another one was completed. Whether this phenomenon is positive or negative for the society as a whole is controversial. It seems plausible that its advantage is apparent; however, after deliberation, we may notice some downsides as well.

Many people would think it is fortunate for a country to have rapid development in economy. For one thing, an economic boom allows the government to have more funds for social welfare, such as education, medical services, and environmental protection. People will feel happy and satisfied with such improvement. For another, the income of its citizens will increase as well, so that people can buy themselves private cars to travel around, home appliances to free them of household chores, and a larger house to enjoy the life after work.

While the benefits of fast economic growth seem obvious, there are some pitfalls too. To be specific, people will probably become materialistic. In modern time, prosperity in business is often achieved by consumerism: companies persuade people to buy products or services which are in fact unnecessary for them, and they also encourage people to replace all their old clothes, decorations, and electronic devices with new ones. Under such influence, people will gradually justify waste in daily life and consider consumption is the only way leading them to happiness. In addition, people may become immoral during chasing economic profits. It is often reported that to<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> </span>reduce<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> cost </span>many companiesuse substandard materials in production, and <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">t</span>o<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> get their commission </span>sales staff will make an empty promise to their customers. In a word, overemphasizing economic interest contributes to moral decay.

To summarize, it is difficult to draw a conclusion that the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages. Admittedly, neither our society nor individuals will have improvement without enough financial support; however, having higher incomes and living standards do not always promise happiness and peace among the society. Therefore, the government had better ensure that its moral education and legislation keep pace with its economic development.