The most essential component of a person's life is his or her time at the workplace, and life turns meaningless once no job satisfaction is obtained. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that human’s life satisfaction depends on how fulfilled people feel about their job as they spend most of their time at work. While I accept that successful work performance can bring us happiness, I strongly disagree that life would be insignificant if people do not feel satisfied with their job.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that most of people’s daily time is at the workplace so their emotion can be easily affected by how well and smoothly they carry out their work. Besides the financial reward, claiming high social status at work is one of the most important achievement to some individuals. Those are what is the meaning of life for them when their lives revolve around work.

On the other hand, I believe that satisfying working life is not the only standard to define the meaning of a person’s life. Apart from working life, people have many other aspects to work for, from the closest family life to further social volunteering activities. For some, they achieve the sense of fulfillment when their children growing up becoming good citizens. Some people enjoy their life when they kindly help others, especially the vulnerable and handicapped. Therefore, what is the meaning of their life is up to their personal viewpoint and it can have nothing to do with their job satisfaction.

In conclusion, some people can work out the meaning of their life through satisfying work, but others can also obtain that from other activities depending on personal choices.