The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Science has played a vital role in enhancing people's wellness and there is also a debate whether its aim should only be for people's lives. I believe that science should be equally invested in other fields, rather than just people's lives.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that thanks to the advanced science our wellness has been improved a lot with many treatments for cancers or widespread virus cures being developed. However, if individuals wish to maintain a better life, another field which gives strong support to it like disaster recovering practice should also be considered. Take Japan for example, the nation which is well-known for long lifespan population and also earthquakes happening all year round. If they only focused on improving methods to prolong people's lifespan and ignoring how those catastrophes affecting their country, they would not be able to recover from them, therefore, their lives do not matter eventually.

On the other hand, science also benefits many other fields with the most specific one being economy. By taking the impact of science for granted on it, economists can use statistics and mathematical theories to test hypotheses and forecast trends. Afterwards, they can make more accurate decisions in investing in other aspects and make money out of them. With the abundant resources, governments are able to continue allocating the budget on medication, transport and communication, which are fairly crucial to maintain people's wellness to the fullest.

In conclusion, science does have an impact on people's live but its priority should not only be enhancing our well-being. It would be better to evenly divide the advanced technologies in other fields as well.