Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent do multinational companies have responsibility towards local communities in which they operate?

In these days, there are a number of big companies trying to expand their branches and business size to other nations. While this benefits these companies in some extents, their responsibility to the local areas where they operate their business is high too.

First of all, they have to take reponsibility to the economy of the local communities. When taking place in these areas, these large companies also lend a hand to investigate a large number of local people working for their business. As a result, the rate of unemployment is reduced and the local citizens will have a better standards of living. Furthermore, large businesses could provide an amount of money for the local government through paying taxes, which later help the areas improve their quality of medical and educational services.

Secondly, the large companies also play an important role in preserving the local environment. They should have to sign a contract with the local government in order not to destroy the environment there and ensure their long-term growth in that place. For example, in their working time, the factories should take some more steps to dispose the waste properlly and not dump their throw-away products right to the nearby communities. Moreover, they should be in charge of the loss of local’s natural resources. It is undeniable that some businesses prefer using as much the amount of resources as to increase their profits. However, they need to share hands to protect and decline the damage they have done. In particular, growing more trees after cutting down them for paper production will be the best idea to preserve the area’s natural beauty and maintain their profits in the long run.

In addition, when the companies operate multi-nationally, they should take higher responsibility to the local communities in both economy and environment. This benefits not only to the local areas but themselves in the near future.