Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals during festival periods people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

Some people argue that we no longer remember the original meaning of festivals, and that

most of us treat them as opportunities to have fun. While I agree that enjoyment seems to

be the priority during festival times, I do not agree that people have forgotten what these

festivals mean.

On the one hand, religious and traditional festivals have certainly become times for

celebration. In the UK, Christmas is a good example of a festival period when people are

most concerned with shopping, giving and receiving presents, decorating their homes and

enjoying traditional meals with their families. Most people look forward to Christmas as a

holiday period, rather than a time to practise religion. Similar behaviour can be seen during

non-religious festivals, such as Bonfire Night. People associate this occasion with making

fires, watching firework displays, and perhaps going to large events in local parks; in other

words, enjoyment is people’s primary goal.

However, I disagree with the idea that the underlying meaning of such festivals has been

forgotten. In UK primary schools, children learn in detail about the religious reasons for

celebrating Christmas, Easter and a variety of festivals in other religions. For example, in

late December, children sing Christmas songs which have a religious content, and they may

even perform nativity plays telling the story of Jesus’ birth. Families also play a role in

passing knowledge of religious festivals’ deeper significance on to the next generation. The

same is true for festivals that have a historical background, such as Bonfire Night or

Halloween, in the sense that people generally learn the stories behind these occasions at an

early age.

In conclusion, although people mainly want to enjoy themselves during festivals, I believe

that they are still aware of the reasons for these celebrations.