News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspaper what factors do you think influences this decision Do we become influenced to bad news and would it be better if more good news was reported

It is true that editors have to make difficult decisions about which news stories they

broadcast or publish, and their choices are no doubt influenced by a variety of factors. In

my opinion, we are exposed to too much bad news, and I would welcome a greater

emphasis on good news.

Editors face a range of considerations when deciding what news stories to focus on.

Firstly, I imagine that they have to consider whether viewers or readers will be interested

enough to choose their television channel or their newspaper over competing providers.

Secondly, news editors have a responsibility to inform the public about important events

and issues, and they should therefore prioritise stories that are in the public interest.

Finally, editors are probably under some pressure from the owners who employ them. For

example, a newspaper owner might have particular political views that he or she wants to

promote.

It seems to me that people do become accustomed to negative news. We are exposed on

a daily basis to stories about war, crime, natural disasters and tragic human suffering

around the world. I believe that such repeated exposure gradually desensitises people,

and we become more cynical about the world and more sceptical that we can do anything

to change it. I would prefer to see more positive news stories, such as reports of the work

of medical staff after a natural disaster, or the kindness of volunteers who help in their

communities. This kind of news might inspire us all to lead better lives.

In conclusion, it must be extremely difficult for editors to choose which news stories to

present, but I would like to see a more positive approach to this vital public service.