In most universities students focus on specialised subjects, however some people believe that universities should encourage students to study a wider variety of subjects. To want extent you agree or disagree?

Some people say that university students should also pay interests in a variety of subjects rather than concentrate mainly on specialized ones. In my opinion, I do not accord with this idea.

The first reason is that these subjects do not relate to their chosen major. Studying these subjects, therefore, will not help to boost the academic skills and abilities that are actually helpful for students’ future career. In other words, the knowledge from these subjects is of complete futility to the students’ initial studying objects. For example, many IT students find it unreasonable when being forced to pass philosophy classes while the computer and coding skills are of paramount importance to their major.

The second reason for my objection is that learning these unrelated subjects is a total waste of time. While students indeed can study 16 hours a day or more, there are only a few hours that individuals can achieve the highest level of effectiveness in studying. Thus, they need to fully utilize this amount of time to acquire an in-depth understanding of their major’s subjects then relax to prepare for the upcoming lessons. In contrast, spending time on other subjects will only consume people’s effective time leading to a poor academic performance of their specialized training. Moreover, many students have to take a part-time job in order to pay their own expenses and, therefore, they are forced to cut down their studying time. This makes studying lessons which are not relevant to their major even more of a time-wasting concern.

In conclusion, I assert that people, especially those who do not go through university life, should never ask students to learn subjects which are unrelated to their main focus.