Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is a common belief that the appearance of multinational corporations are gaining popularity in developing nations. I believe that this approach could have both positive and negative implications.

There are several advantages which can be reaped from multinational companies. Chief among these is that when this model of business is carried out in developing nations, the citizens are likely to be provided with a huge range of job opportunities, which can tackle unemployment issues in those places. Therefore, this practice could enhance the citizens’ earnings as well as GDP of a country, which can significantly improve their economic situation. Another notable idea is that multinational enterprises have numerous subsidiaries in developing countries. In other words, the production in those nations may access the latest technology from the developed counterparts. Consequently, the local workers in multinational companies can have an opportunity to learn cutting-edge technology, thereby applying them to develop their own countries.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, constructing multinational enterprises can bring about several downsides to developing countries in terms of their societal and economic perspectives. As for the former, such companies have a tendency to exploit the labour workforce from poorer countries and poorer workers by introducing higher wages compared to the normal incomes. However, those enterprises can pay even more when the employees work at the same amount of time, which can result in the overexploitation of workers in smaller countries. Regarding the second idea, this form of business may have higher profits and higher investments in their manufacturing as well as have better strategies to reach the potential consumers. If multinational companies become common in developing nations, the local and national one may gain a higher competitive edge, which can hardly make profits and surpass them because the former models are likely to dominate the market.

In conclusion, while multinational businesses can be advantageous to some extent, there are also several drawbacks to developing countries.