Museums and art galleries

In recent years, the great progress of information technology can allow people to obserse artworks or historical objects through computer. Therefore, some persons think that it is unessential to remain the existence of museums or exhibitions. I totally disagree with this idea.

In my opinion, seeing pictures of the works of art or historical objects through personal computer, laptop or any electronic devices can not bring any value for observers. In order to understand deeply the historical and artistic meaning of them, we also need to reach a comprehensive feeling about all aspects of these works such as: real colour, materials, scale and overall apperance which is only provided by museums or art galleries. Besides, while computer just supply a kind of one-way communation for observers, public museums or art expositions can bring a golden and ideal environment where visitors can meet and broaden their relationship with other ones, reach the deep interaction and discussion with staffs to boost their interest in history or art.

In technological perspective, using computers also brings many undeniable benefits in discovering the hidden meaning of artworks or historical objects such as: plentiful information, convenient approach and low expense. However, the electronic devices can just be means which support museums or exhibitions to accomplish their missions and are never impossible to replace them. It is because museums are a place where not only stores historical value objects but also represents many unique features of that nation’s cuture. Moreover, keeping these destinations can benefit significantly to the tourism industry of that country by attracting more and more tourists.

In conclusion, I do not believe that public museums and art exhibitions can be alternated by computers which people can use to see artworks.