Museums and art galleries are past their use-by date.. In modern society, culture and art are best accessed online by computers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Internet is a part of information revolution which does not only allow people to connect to each other but also empower people to access to an enormous mass of data. By using internet, a person no longer need to visit a museum or art gallery but still able to enjoy or study of culture and art which raises a question that whether the existence of museum and art galleries are no longer needed. In my view, museum and art are irreplaceable and they shall continously keep a crucial role in society for a long time.

Firstly, it is obvious that enjoying art and culture in museum or gallery brings multidimensional multisensory experience to the guests. This means that a guest could obtain more memorable experience in art gallery than simply looking at a picture online. Attending at exhibition room, the visitors are able to observe details and textures of the artifacts then discuss to each other about what they are concerned which brings a interactive and communicative environment to the visitors, the environment internet does not offer.

Moreover, the organisation and arrangement of artifacts in museums or art gallaries are systematic and effective which helps visitors take less effort to study. For example, surfing and gathering random information of an artist on internet must be a hard work and also take time to classify or summarise information. In contrast, a gallery owner would classify artworks into category such as year, theme, artist and each artwork is also attached with additional information so it can be studied in systematic way.

That is not to say that studying culture and art on internet is not beneficial. Indeed, internet is an economical and convenient way to study any particular field. Althought internet does not always bring to learner a reliable systematic information, it is a helpful tool for seeking knowledge which can be combined with studying in museums and art galleries for more effective study.

In sum, visting museums or art galleries not only offers visitors an ideal environment to obtain knowledge but also gives them chance to interact with each other. Meanwhile, seeking information on internet is still a convenient way which is partialy supportive for studying in desirable field. By doing so, studiers would find their own suitable ways to study art and culture.