New household appliances have resulted in more free time for women and have enabled them to both work and run a home with dependent children. What are the advantages for a family when the mother works? Do you think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

It is undeniable that with the advent of technology, women’s liberation from the daily strenuous tasks of the household has apparently come into existence since the beginning of the twentieth century. Consequently, females have been privileged with more leisure time for family and propelled to the workforce more than ever. Although some people assert that accelerating involvement of male counterparts into jobs owing to electrical aid has myriad drawbacks along with immense benefits. However, the question of whether the demerits of this outweigh the merits is definitely difficult to answer.

To begin with, there are numerous merits of working women to not only the family but all units of our complex social structure. one the most significant reason is the monetary provision, the working wives will ensure the financial security of their family as they will provide additional income which enhance the living standards. Secondly, this stream will contribute to shrinking the gender gap, as in previous times women had been doing all the household chores whereas men were the only bread earner of their houses, hence, tended to hold high status, but technology improves the situation along with the liberty to choose a career instead of humdrum routines. Thirdly, the sense of self-esteem due to economic freedom is also an advantage of machines that allow to pursue a profession along with looking after the family.

On the contrary, the negatives of this phenomenon cannot be denied as it will take a toll on the health and time of ambitious working women. Doing two crucial tasks at a time will push them towards a struggling life and results in a number of sacrifices in terms of health, hobbies, and most importantly quality time with family and friends. The second challenge is related to the children’s rearing which will be adversely affected as mothers will spend less time with them, this inadequate attention consequently results in persistently increasing obesity or malnutrition, indulgence into bad company and habits, physical and mental development, and last but not the least in certain cases, isolation from society give birth to the grave problems like social phobia. Lastly, the over-dependence on the electricity will reduce the physical efforts that increase the health risks. Moreover, it will have a detrimental effect on the environment too due to air pollution and garbage led but the usage of machines.

To conclude, it is hard to find out a concrete decision, as it can be vividly seen that this pattern of life has both some negative consequences with constructive benefits. Although Juggling between home and career is not a piece of cake, but little extra attention can make things fall into the right place.