New technologies have changed the way children spend their time. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Novel technological developments have altered how children spend their leisure time. Although this trend has some negative effects to some extent, I believe that its benefits are more significant.

On the one hand, there are a number of major impacts when children spend too much time playing with technological devices. Firstly, as children devote a large amount of their time to video games or screen time activities, this tendency would have an adverse influence on their health. As a result, they suffer from various health problems such as eye strain, short-sightedness or obesity. Additionally, more time spent on online entertainment activities means less time for other social activities. Therefore, children tend to play electronic games or browse the internet instead of hanging out with their peers. This would lead to social isolation which seriously affects their later lives.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. The first reason is that new technologies help kids enrich their knowledge and learn from a wide range of valuable skills. My young niece, for example, knows more about animals and their natural habitats by watching discovery channel on her iPad. Furthermore, hi-tech gadgets stimulate children’s creativity and imagination. A child, for instance, could learn to conduct simple experiments by watching educational programs like Minute Earth or Best of science. Finally, children have more opportunities to make friends from all over the world by using social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

In conclusion, I would argue that the appearance of new technological improvements brings more benefits than drawbacks.