New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

In about 250 words, write an essay to express your opinion on the issue. Use reasons and examples to support your composition.

It is obvious that in the modern world, children’s recreational activities have been changed with the inventions of technology devices. Personally, I think that its drawbacks outweigh its benefits on this side.

Firstly, spending more time relaxing with technology means that they do not have time for outdoor activities. This does not have any positive effects on them at all as they may be inactive and lead a sedentary life. Consequently, they do not get enough physical exercise and activities, which may make them come down with some diseases such as obesity. Moreover, as they are glued to those gadgets’ screens all the time, their eyes can be hurt.

Secondly, using technological devices too much can negatively affect their way of life, especially their studies. Many games now, which kids almost find whenever they hold a smartphone or turn on a computer, are designed to be addictive. So, children, who may not have enough discipline to avoid those, may find it difficult to get away from devices. Therefore, they may not concentrate on their studies at school, and their academic results can be reduced rapidly. From a different perspective, this situation is detrimental to the following generations and our society in general.

To sum up, I believe that in the field of recreation, modern gadgets like smartphones and tablets are not beneficial to children for several reasons mentioned above. I hope there will be a better alternative to this kind of entertainment in children’s spare time soon.