New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages

Thanks to technological advances, children can spend their free time in myriad ways. I consent to the notion that the disadvantages of new technologies outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, advanced technologies exert beneficial effects on children. First and foremost, youngsters can gain access to a massive variety of educational content. They can watch these contents on all devices that have internet and everywhere. For instance, on Youtube, there are numerous videos that not only have abundant useful knowledge but also are fascinating for children to learn. Secondly, children can expand their relationships. On social apps such as Facebook, and Zalo, there are multiple study groups in which children can take part so that they can talk together, make friends, and get learning, and social experiences from each other.

On the other hand, cutting-edge technologies bring about detrimental implications for children. First, they badly affect physical health. Spending most of the time staring at the monitor leads to the rise in obesity due to the sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise. Second, children can have access to content placing them in danger. Adults cannot always observe the contents children watch, read or play. The incidents of suicide and self-injury due to Blue Whale or Momo challenges are classic examples of this problem.

In conclusion, although technologies have positive benefits, I am firmly convinced that they have more demerits than merits.