News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers.

What factors do you think influence these decisions?

Would it be better if more good news was reported?

The content of television and newspaper is known to be in the hand of editors as they can choose what news to publish due to some reasons. In my opinion, the report of good news is as vital as the bad ones.

On the one hand, there are some factors influencing the editors' decisions while publishing any news. The first reason could belong to the importance of the news given. For instance, if there was a storm coming, then it is crucial for the television stations to make the warning to the coastal populations through their weather forecast program. Accordingly, not only can people living in low-lying areas be in better preparation but it also mitigates the cost to tackle the severe consequences later. Another cause that has an impact on the selection of information to these two kinds of the medium may lie in the value of the news. Particularly, if a newspaper holds a piece of monopoly news, there is no doubt that this source of information will attract a higher number of readers. When that newspaper becomes popular, writers will also gain higher revenues stemming from fame and advertisements.

On the other hand, bad news and good news should receive an equal amount of attention. Specifically, negative news reminds people of a world where the crime rate is still at a high level; therefore; they are more aware in their daily lives. However, the report of good news cannot be underestimated as it shows a positive aspect, which is a stimulus for people’s mental lives.

In conclusion, editors decide what to published and displayed on-screen and in newspapers based on the rate of importance and the peaks of publishing that news. In my opinion, bad news and good news should share the same amount of concentration. If this situation continued in reality, then the people’s lives would be much more balanced.