News is playing vital role in life today and people are getting much influenced by the news now. Some say that news has no connection with most people’s life and it is waste of time for most of us to read newspaper and watch television news program. Do you agree or disagree?

News has become increasingly important in life, and it has an enormous impact on people these days. However, it is believed by some that most people waste their time to read newspapers and watch news on the television. While I agree that several pieces of news are unhelpful, I would argue that there is much useful news closely related to people’s life.

On the one hand, news which does not connect to most people has been relatively prevalent. One reason is that celebrity gossip and rumours, which are increasingly exposed in order to attract people’s attention, have no common ground with the majority of people. This is exemplified by the married life of the famous singer Justin Bieber which is really disconnected from most people’s life, but it draws significant concern from many youngsters. Additionally, since news reports on much violence and serious accidents, people might have a pessimistic view of the place where they are living if they spend much time on this news.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why people should read or watch news daily. First, keeping track of various reliable news about events happening not only within their nation but worldwide, people can aware of vital information which directly influences the way they behaviour. For instance, people continuously updated the information of the outbreak of H5N1 influenza so as to prevent themselves from being infected. Second, it is apparent that news is a mountainous source of human knowledge to which people could have access in order to broaden their minds. For example, reading news on the global banking system is usually useful for my career as a banker, helping me stand out from my colleges.

In conclusion, while some news which has no connection with the life of most people is not worth reading or watching, I believe that many trustworthy sources of news are really informative and educational.