News is playing a vital role in our life today and people are getting much influenced by the news now. Some say that news has no connection with most people's life and it is a waste of time for most of us to read newspaper and watch television news program. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the news is fundamental to our life in the present day, and it is exerting considerable effects on human beings. While some individuals claim that reading newspapers and watching television news broadcasts is time-wasting as there is no correlation between people’s lives and them, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint.

Firstly, reports about recent events are closely associated with the life of humans. As news coverage makes the public keep abreast of current affairs, it can sometimes save lives and reduce casualties. There is a lot of uncertainty about the surroundings, and people are susceptible to the damage caused by accidents, crimes and natural catastrophe. The news media conveys the firsthand information to concerned audiences and enable them to take corresponding actions right away. The authority can declare a state of emergency when it is necessary, organize evacuation and distribute aid to the needy areas. All these efforts count on the news media as a messenger, and it will be beneficial for people to catch up on such updated information. Reading

Furthermore, reading newspapers and watching television news broadcasts is not a waste of time, and it brings enormous benefits to human beings instead. It starts with the educational features of the news, especially that deriving from official sources, namely local government magazines or verified international news platforms. For instance, if someone is passionate about the economic field, “The Economist”, the English-language weekly magazine-format newspaper, is a reliable source for him to find in-depth articles written by economic experts. This will help people gain profound understanding of the topics they are engrossed in. Secondly, reading newspapers help people socialize with others, as it enables them to take part in every discussion pertaining to both current affairs.

In conclusion, I would argue that there is a strong connection between the news and people’s lives; thus, it is valuable if people spare the time to get up-to-date information on newspapers or television.