Newspapers have an enormous influence on people’s opinions and ideas. Why is it? Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

Information on newspapers has been utilized effectively in recent years. Some people think that this source of information has a great effect on individuals’ point of views. There is a reason for this statement. However, I believe such development could have a negative influence on the readers.

To begin with, there is a certain reason why many viewers believe that newspapers have changed people’s way of thinking. In the century of industrializing where newly discovered innovation is published on newspapers every day, people are able to approach new ideas daily. Consequently, getting exposed to newspapers continuously will result in replacing the people’s outdated concepts in various aspects with updated ones, which enormously change individuals’ opinions and ideas. For instance, older people, who mostly support the conventional education, are now more opened to home school technology thanks to reading many explanation and proving evidences provided by newspapers. Thus, it is no doubt to state that newspapers can drastically change people’s point of views.

Unfortunately, the readers are at risk of taking false and covered information when being exposed too much to newspapers. Firstly, in the days of profit-oriented business, newspapers are paid to push a huge amount of advertisement with incorrect details of products intentionally to catch the consumers’ attention. The consequence of such information is the decrease of viewers’ credibility when they decide to share with the others. Secondly, although private publishers have the rights to handle their own materials, governments might interfere in some circumstances with false political articles to misguide the citizens. For examples, propagandas and disingenuous information written by governments can be easily found on every private newspaper to brainwash the citizens. Therefore, relying too much on newspapers could damage people’ originally genuine opinions and ideas.

In conclusion, while reading newspapers brings a change to the way individuals think, I believe this development could have some harmful impacts on the viewers.