Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

For the last three decades, more and more cars have been sold and put into use. Hence, many cities around the world are facing a huge problem of traffic jams. In my view, I believe that the increasing number of car ownership does cause severe traffic jams. However, some solutions can be taken by the governments to tackle this problem.

There are several reasons why I think that the increasing of car use is severely causing traffic jams. Over the past thirty years, manufacturers have improved their products in both the exterior and the interior which satisfies their customers. Therefore, owning a car has become a trend among individuals. Consequently, this trend leads to big severe traffic jams in modern cities. When numerous vehicles travel at the same time, the roads' space is narrowed which restricts cars' movements. In time, more vehicle from behind will make the jam more severed.

However, there are a few strategies that can be taken by governments to solve this problem. Firstly, since the main reason i due to a high proportion of car ownership, governments can enact laws to control the number of cars owned by each family. For example, Vietnam Congress has established a law that forces people to pay double taxes if they own more than two vehicles; since then, the number of cars has vastly decreased. Secondly, governments can also discourage individuals from using their own cars by promoting and improving public transportation. With more modern subway trains and buses, people will recognize the convenience of these means of transport. As a result, fewer cars are used and less traffic jams occur.

In conclusion, I believe there possible ways that governments around the world can take to address severe traffic jams in the time when personal vehicles are increasing quickly.