Not so many people use a bicycle although it has many benefits. Why? How to encourage people to use bicycles as a main transport?

Despite salutary effects of using a bicycle, there is still unpopularity of this means of transportation among many individuals. The reasons for this issue are varied and some feasible solutions would be proposed in the paragraphs below.

There are two main underlying explanations for the uncommon use of bicycles. First, since there is an increasing number of individuals adopting a hectic lifestyle, cycling would be deemed as impractical as it would take them a considerable amount of time to commute to work. Second, modern people are less concerned about the emission from their motorcycles or cars that undoubtedly inflict severe damage to our fragile environment. Those are the reasons for the weak presence of bicycles in human society.

Several measures can be taken to improve the popularity of this pedal-driven recreational vehicle. The first pragmatic solution may be to raise the price of petrol or levy a heavy tax on cars and motorbikes. This action will make it more costly to own or use a car or a motorbike. Another efficient method is to introduce monthly green days that by law require everyone to cycle to work to get them involved in protecting the environment. Moreover, with the help of various means of media, effective propagation may be launched to raise people’s awareness of the harmful effects of motorbikes and cars on the environment. As a result, people will gradually form a habit of using bikes for their daily commutes. The last approach may be to build more lanes only for bikes to make it safer for cyclists to travel on the road.

In conclusion, cycling, despite its beneficial effects, still remains a rare picture in the modern world. There are a number of reasons for its unpopularity, therefore; realistic solutions need to be adopted to promote this eco-friendly means of transportation.