Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer while others are in favour of th

Whilst some individuals believe that animal testing is a vital commodity for medical purposes, others think this action has an adverse (cruel) effect on animals’ short life. In my viewpoint, animal experimentation is of paramount importance in human life.

Animal testing greatly facilitates medical development, which is necessary for both human and animal habitation. Animals in biomedical research develop new treatments for diseases as quickly, compared to that since time immemorial. Several instances of animal testing in vaccine development, experimental surgery, and cancer research ameliorate the effects of many illnesses. This can be seen in experiments of mice in mRNA COVID-19 vaccine development. Furthermore, not only do humans benefit from research and testing, a profusion of drugs and treatments developed can be now used in veterinary clinics as well, helping animals live longer, healthier lives. As a result, animal research plays a pivotal role in expanding life expectancy.

Detractors of animal experimentation for medical development assert that the harmful use of animal testing is not only cruel but also ineffective. This seems to stem from the fact that treatments, which can be used in animals rarely work in humans. Moreover, there are no accurate figures to determine precisely how many animals are used in the laboratory due to the lack of scrutiny. Therefore, animal experimentation inflicts on wasting animals’ lives with a surfeit of pain and fear.

In conclusion, both viewpoints maintain different justifications. Such exploitation of animals, though unkind, is essential for medical advances, including new inventions of treatment, which are fundamental to humanity.