Nowadays celebrities make more money than politicians. What are the reasons and is it a negative/ positive development?

There is a recently observed tendency that the income of celebrities exceeds that of politicians by a large margin. From a personal perspective, i believe its driving force could be the rapidly increasing popularity of mass media and this development could have unintended consequences for societies.

It is obvious that the proliferation of social media has been a key factor in promoting the income of famous people. Having gained wide recognition from the public, one could easily make great money from representing a company’s image. As an illustration, a well-known football player could publicly advertise for a sports brand, through which he might enjoy far more wealth than politicians. Furthermore, celebrities also stand a high chance of getting paid generously for their attendance to a TV programme, while politicians could only consider such a public appearance as a way to raise their profiles.

I am also inclined to think that this trend might have implications on societies. The belief that a social public figure could enjoy far more financial benefits than a political one could render political occupations much less appealing. Indeed, the prospect of a person with a naturally intended career as a politician easily dropping it in the hope of becoming a celebrity seems fairly reasonable in the context of a materialistic world. Were this to be a prevailing trend, the political environment would potentially be in a severe lack of competent candidates especially for important positions, which will undoubtedly have an adverse impact on the devising and implementing of policies.

To recapitulate, the surpassing income of celebrities compared to that of politicians, driven by the growing popularity of the media, would put societies’s political structure in a jeopardy. It is highly advisable that governments promote politicians’s welfare to offset the disadvantage of this trend.