Every year an increasing number of people suffer from fast food related diseases. The government, therefore, should impose a high tax on fast food. To what extent

do you agree or disagree?

Fast food has been closely associated with an increasing number of health problems. Predicated on this fact, several people believe that high tax should be levied on this seemingly unhealthy type of food to restrict its consumption to a certain extent. From a personal perspective, I strongly disagree with this idea because this policy could have unintended consequences such as the two presented below.

It should be noticed that such a policy, if implemented, would put private businesses in jeopardy. The explanation for this is that like most other counterparts on the market, fast food companies run a profitable business by selling their products at a higher price than the operation costs. Understandably, imposing a higher tax revenue would be tantamount to showing a public discouragement of these companies’s business, which might potentially even lead to the end of their venture in that particular country.

In the meantime, it is also obvious that consumers will be put at a disadvantage if the government approves of this proposal. My argument is that because of their hectic schedules, numerous people seem to have no choice but to resort to fast food as their main source of energy on a daily basis. Were the policy put into practice, companies might react to it by correspondingly increasing the food price to offset their loss on taxation. As an undesirable result, the aforementioned people would have to incur an extra amount of money which, to several who are already having financial problems, might seem unreasonable and ludicrous.

In conclusion, it is my firm belief that an increase in tax in order to tackle fast food related diseases might seem to have unpredictable implications for businesses and consumers, evidenced by the arguments above . Governments are advised to seek for other solutions such as imposing a ban or limitation on certain substances or ingredients used to produce such unhealthy products.