Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These day, both experience and knowledge are the key factors in the modern workplaces. However, I personally think that experience can play as a vital role in most cases than knowledge.

Workers who are high-skilled with strong knowledge background can easily standout to other workers. They have ability to learn more knowledge and deal with difficult problems based on the body knowledge. In today’s world, we even need this kind of people to handle some certain types of job, which these jobs usually have higher requirements of solid knowledge. Such as researchers, engineer, and doctors, they need to have some basic knowledge in that of fields beforehand.

However, a skilled worker could also make mistakes if they haven’t seen the problems or faced the cases before. For instance, architects from oversea would probably need more time than the local architects to build a proper and livable building for local people to move in. Experience can only be obtained by time, and the process of gaining knowledge needs time and will eventually become one of experience. On the other hand, nowadays we can see that a lot of knowledges that are built in machines. People who operate them can only have basic knowledge of them, which this brings some certain knowledges to become a secondary role.

In a nutshell, both experience and knowledge have their valid points, but to me, experience is still not easy to be replaced by any chances in the modern workplace.