Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

There is no debate about crucial role of practical techniques which are used on a job position and often considered as more vital than having theoretical knowledge. Although, this approach is beneficial to some areas but not to all of them.

To start with, technical sectors do require some fixed period of experience as we cannot understand mechanical working only by reading books. But, this is not to be mistaken that a person with only experience is more efficient than knowledgeable worker. Theoretical study aid us in having basic assumption about a particular topic we are learning. Take for an example, if a person who is working in a motor shop does not know about that very engine he is de-assembling how will he is going to make it right, whether he had some experience or not. This ends up in, However we may be great at something by doing it over and over again, but without a basic know-how we are just useless.

On the other hand, is it only knowledge that makes most of a perfect post ? The answer maybe a solid no. Even though, having an elementary knowledge of most of the sections, can result in a good experience also.Though, In this world, anybody is not best at anything right from his or her birth rather they are made like this, throughout their academic life. In few industries such as legal, managerial and healthcare, having important knowledge is most essential. For instance, medical practitioners gain information through a long period, then they are able to practice healthcare, not by just apprenticeship under other doctor. Even if, we acquire some practical aspect there will be still facts need to be remember.

In a conclusion, it is still a hot potato that workers who are more experienced than knowledgeable, are to be valued more. But as both of these are two sides of a same coin, one can not be sacrifice for the sake of other or it could be fully unjust to over power experience for factual information about an occupation due to equal importance of both in a job.