Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this.

Explain the reasons for this and discuss any possible effects it may have on society.

Family plays a vital role in someone's development in terms of values, knowledge about culture, tradition and so on, but people's mindset has been changed with respect to time, where people prefer to give less importance to family than the past. Thus, I am going to highlight the reasons and consequences of this development.

To begin with, people have become deeply obsessed with their life affairs wherein they have even forgotten the importance of the family owing to multifarious reasons. First, people have engrossed themselves utterly in the overuse of technology, wherein people have got various platforms where they like to interact with friends and other people, rather than discussing with family members. On top of that, people's preference for materialistic things such as luxurious items, gadgets have made them work relentlessly for fulfilling such lofty desires, which in turn has brought hectic life for them, thus a major cause of the rift between them and family.

On the other side, the family is an inevitable part of someone's life, no one can get success without the contribution of family, and therefore negligence of family may bring myriad negative effects in society. Firstly, people can get knowledge of few domains from books and the internet, but knowledge about respect, dignity and many more, can only be furnished by family, and these things play a significant role in someone's holistic development. In addition, if one will not give importance to the family then it is quite difficult for someone to survive and earn recognition in the society. For instance, it has been found that a good relationship with family members can be one of the main cures for many psychological disorders such as anxiety disorder and chronic stress disorder.

In conclusion, I opine that a tree cannot survive without roots, which is similar to people in the case of family. Thus, one should never forget to give respect to the family.