Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

An increasing number of people are opting for alternative medicines and treatments instead of coming to their usual doctors to heal their diseases. In my view, this should be perceived as negative trend for two main reasons.

Firstly, the alternative medicines and treatments methods are not clinically tested. Although it could be argued that a few patients become healthy after trying these methods, they still have a flaw. To illustrate, despite an alternative medicine helps patients to reduce pain due to their diseases, the number of doctors do not know the drug truly can cure the patient. Furthermore, people who recommend this kind of medicines and treatments do not have knowledge to explain how the methods work. It is, therefore, clear how this type of medicines are still doubted by many doctors.

Secondly, the number of people that use these kind of medicines probably get other diseases. This is mainly because alternative drugs have other effects other than cure the main disease that lead to complication. Take some alternative drug users for example who consume herbal drugs to heal cancer while their bodies metabolism are affected by herbal drugs that cause their organs does not work well, which in turn, increase the risk of death. Thus, people must study more the side effects of any kind of alternative medicines before consuming them. In contrast, attending usual doctors is less dangerous if we follow their advice because they have learned many researches and give a proportional medication recipes.

To sum up, trying herbal medicines and treatments are not only doubtful, but also leads to the possibility of facing a lot of medical problems. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that using alternative drugs and treatments brings a negative trend for society.