Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults.

What do you think is the reason for this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, Millennial and Generation Z adults around the world do shopping as one of the most popular forms of leisure activity. In this essay, I would like to explain the causes of this phenomenon and tell my opinion about it.

It is evident that advertisements are developing and spreading everywhere. Many platforms, such as YouTube, Instagram, and Facebook, are the place for any advertised items. In Indonesia, my country, young adults will find the endorsements because they use social media more frequently than older adults. This behavior makes a lot of young adults buy anything they want as a form of relaxation. Furthermore, most activities such as studying and working are stressful for new adults. My sister is a perfect example of someone who thinks she must go to mall to refresh herself through shopping after finishing her studies and jobs.

However, the impacts of excessive shopping would be detrimental in the future. Firstly, the mentality of Millennial and Generation Z adults will be negative. They will become persons who spend a lot of money for buying unnecessary things. My friends always buy new products of iPhones even though the previous version of this smartphones can still be used by them. Moreover, most young adults potentially do not have money management skills because of their behavior that love shopping, and they will likely have difficulty in their old age due to a lack of money management. It happens to some people from previous generation such as my father although they are not from the same era as young adults. That is why my father lives in poverty now.

In general, young people tend to shop because they need relaxation after completing tasks in their offices or colleges. However, they must be aware the negative impacts of this activity because it will make them have consumerism habit, and most likely bring them to live in poverty.