Nowadays, large shopping malls are becoming more popular than small local shops. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is still controversial whether the improvement of dropping by mega shopping centres, such as department stores more than the smaller size of local stores is beneficial or not. In my view, the disadvantages of it offset its advantages.

On the one hand, there are significant positive aspects of having many bigger shops. Firstly, one of the reasons is the reduction in spending considerable time travelling for shopping. This means that potential consumers are allowed to try on a wide variety of products such as clothes and touch new technological devices with ease in a building without concerns of traffic jams. Another benefit is for global entrepreneurs who would wish to foster their business globally. Since they can trade their goods and services with other countries, they can improve the private economic growth and further, their national economic power.

On the other hand, focusing on establishing the large scale of shopping malls can bring about negative challenges in society. One of the serious issues is that bigger shops aimed at the global market can highly control the local markets. Consequently, it is difficult for the local economy to be invigorated. Furthermore, consumers’ opportunity of selection on commodities would possibly, be limited if there are fewer local shops. In other words, popular mass merchandise is generally, displayed in bigger shopping malls, so there are no purchasing tailor-made products conveniently for purchasers, which could be more precious, creative and distinctive than other goods.

In conclusion, increasing giant shopping centres have a double-edged- sword. However, as far as I am concerned, growing more its industries than local businesses seems to have substantial disadvantages.