These days free music and free films are available online. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Over the last 50 years, as Internet technologies have increased rapidly, many people have been able to access and download or stream music or films free of charge online. In my view, this modern innovation is likely to cause considerable disadvantageous consequences more than its advantages.

It is true that there are positive aspects when the free use of entrainment resources is available online. One of the reasons is that many artists or composers who have not been well-known can have an opportunity to reveal their creations worldwide through complimentary online platforms such as Spotify and Soundcloud. Therefore, sometimes, with their creative masterpieces, they can be popular and earn a great deal of fortune, acquiring a chance to perform in front of the public. In addition, these free materials allow people to not only provide more options to enjoy them but also find their unique and detailed artistic taste or preference more easily.

On the other hand, the negative result of permission to complimentary films and music is a possible heavy loss in terms of revenue in entertainment businesses as well as the potentially, insufficient rewards for creators if the productions are not popular. One of the examples is that when I worked in an independent film industry before, the free movie uploaded online did not have a good reputation so, many workers lost their morale. Eventually, it brought about the lack of substantial financial damage in business and therefore, many producers including various directors could not receive sufficient monetary profits, which was against the protection of labour law.

In conclusion, although there are some beneficial effects of free movies and music on the Internet, practically, its latent drawback, economic rewards can be made often so, from my perspective, the negative impact seems to be more serious.