Nowadays many children have trouble paying attention in class or concentrating on their school work Why is this happening How can this problem be solved

These days difficulty in long lasting attention on studying is a common problem for children. There is variety of reasons for this. However, by taking some simple steps, it can be solved.

In my conviction, there are three main factors which contribute to short span attention for children. The First and foremost reason is uncontrolled access to mobiles and tablets which are bombarding children with an immense amount of entertainment content such as games and videos. These are more interesting for youngsters and even when they are in the middle of study, their mind might be in the middle of a game. Secondly, many parents as role models are used to wasting time on the internet which represents it as a normal behavior for children and they emulate this behavior of their parents. Finally, a noisy environment can be a source of distraction. For example, when children are studying in front of TV, near other family members while they are talking and watching TV, they cannot focus on their lessons.

Tackling these concerns involve several possible solutions. With regard to electronic devices, parents should set some restrictions and consider a limited amount of time per day for using mobiles or watching TV, and they should be strict and not too permissive about it. Also, parents themselves should modify their habits in using mobiles. They can set some goals and try to achieve them by spending a reasonable time on them, Such as considering some time every night for learning English vocabulary or finishing a profitable book instead of using phones. It can be good examples to show their kids that great achievements can be gained by focusing. Furthermore, providing a suitable place for studying can help children to maintain their concentration that means a permanent place for studying which they know they should not do anything else there and should avoid studying in front of TV.

In conclusion, although modern children have some problems with low concentrating, there are some measures to tackle it such as restrictions on using gadgets, changes in parents' behavior as role models and providing a desirable ambience for studying.