Nowadays in many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the causes for that? How can this problem be solved

These days, in many nations due to human consumerist nature, wastes are ubiquitous and this increases as the days goes by. This has given rise to the fervid question ' can human over-zealous consumption attitude be curtailed'?. In this essay, the reasons and how to mitigate this phenomenon will be discussed.

irrefutably, household refuse such as food packagings and garbage are on the rise on a daily basis. There are two major reasons which could be detrimental. First of all, modern lifestyle adaptation. To illustrate, these days we consume a lot of packaged foods because they are easily available are affordable. While packaged foods are affordable, the packaging materials are mostly non-biodegradable so it is harmful to the environment. For instance, the popular fast food giant Mac Donald uses non-biodegradable plastic to package food which are unhealthy and increases wastes production. Secondly, markets nowadays are flooded with cheap and single-use products such as electronic gadgets, dairy products and so on. These products not only contributes to waste generations but are dangerous to humans. A recent study by the Japanese has shown that canned dairy products increases the risk of cancer. By and large, the major reasons for waste accumulations these days are modern lifestyle adaptation and market are flooded with single-use products.

Conversely, the ways to mitigate these problems are not far-fetched. If government enact laws to curtail the use of non-biodegradable products in packaging food products, it will go a long way in handling this menace. For example, in India, there is a law that prohibits the importation of non-biodegradable food products so that most products used in the country should be eco-friendly. Furthermore, unless educational awareness on the dangers of modern lifestyle adoption which could lead to indiscriminate waste disposal are done, individuals might not understand the impeding danger it posses. Humans should be enlightened on the benefits of healthy lifestyle and proper waste disposal mechanisms.

To sum up, refuse accumulation in countries are on the rise on a daily basis.The major reasons are modern lifestyle adaptations and the markets flooded with cheap and single-use products. Nonetheless to solve this problems, the government should make laws to ban the use of non-biodegradable products in product of food products and also educational awareness on the dangers of modern lifestyle adoption should be encouraged.