Nowadays, many families have both parents working. Some working parents believe
other family members like grandparents can take care of their children, while others
think childcare centres provide the best care. Discuss both views and give your own
opinion.
Currently, many parents tend to be busy working, and they need to rely on someone else to
take care of their offspring. While some people think childcare organisations can offer the
best care, I would argue that it is better for children to be looked after by their grandparents.
On the one hand, it is believed that youngsters should be sent to childcare centres for some
reasons. The first one is that since those centres are professional organisations, their staff
are often well trained and therefore have good babysitting skills. For example, when a child
falls over and gets himself injured, a staff can react quickly and give him first aid.
Furthermore, children can have a chance to make friends with their peers when coming
there, which might increase their communication and language abilities. If they are looked
after by their family at home, they might feel a bit lonely.
On the other hand, I believe it is a better idea for grandparents to take care of their
grandchildren. Firstly, as grandparents have lived for many years and have brought up their
own offspring, they have much experience in raising children. For instance, they might
know how to calm the baby down when he cries. Secondly, grandparents are family
members, so they love their grandchildren more than other people do. As a result, they tend
to spend much more time and effort caring for their grandchildren compared to a childcare
staff member. Finally, youngsters looked after by their grandparents are likely to become
more family-oriented and appreciate the value of a happy family.
In conclusion, while there are some benefits of children being sent to childcare centres, I
believe they should be raised by their own grandparents.