Nowadays many people cannot read or write What problems does this cause What measures can governments take to solve these problems

With the alarming over-population, there are more and more disable people who cannot read or write. This essay will shed light on some consequences and then suggest solutions for this issue.

It is undeniable that a person with a disability is disadvantageous in important ways. The first disadvantage that can be seen is learning difficulties. Clearly, if a person has a reading deficit or writing disorder, that one might get trouble with receiving information and reflecting ideas. Apart from that, learning is about receiving knowledge and presenting it. Therefore, lacking the reading and writing ability means that they hardly achieve comprehensive learning. As a result, these people have difficulty in finding jobs. Even if they have jobs, they might not be able to protect their rights as they cannot read official documents. Therefore, not only for himself but also for his family, and a large number of disabled people can be a burden for their community and nations as a whole.

However, there are some plans that government can apply to help illiterate people. Most importantly, governments need to ensure basic education for these people. They should make it easy for every disabled person to get the minimum literacy level. For example, resources should be allocated to provide basic literacy classes in local colleges or social and community centers to help people to learn to read and write. Moreover, creating a friendly and healthy environment for these people should be taken into consideration. For example, the government can encourage businesses to hire disabled staff or build communities only for these people in terms of entertainment and social activities. This helps illiterate people cope with the confusing mass of official paperwork. In this way, they will not be discriminated against, for instance by losing welfare rights to which they are entitled. As a result, these policies truly give the disables a better life.

In conclusion, although having learning difficulties cause many serious problems, governments still have solutions to tackle this issue.