Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, many individuals prefer to be bosses of their own other than being an employee in another settings. This usually happens because of unemployment then, the drawback could be lacking business ideas and mismanagement.

An increase in the rate of unemployment for present day graduates is alarming. People go from one one company to the other seeking white collar jobs, attending interviews and at the long run could not secure the job due to some factors best known to the organization. The society today also influence employment, as children or relations of individuals at the top get the good jobs before an advert is placed. This inturn has made many people make the decisions of setting themselves up. For instance, in a seminar organized by for a group of young entrepreneurs, about 80% of people in attendance settled as self-employed solely because of unemployment.

Lack of business ideas usually throw entrepreneurs off balance most times. Unstable choice of business, trying out what others are successful in also affects self-employed. Relatively, mismanagement is also factor. Indiscipline in spending, requesting for larger loans and expenses outweighing income sets in. All these cannot be properly maintained consequently leading to bankruptcy. For instance, it was discovered in Lagos Nigeria that about 75% of businesses that went down the drain in 2010 were caused by mismanagement.

In conclusion, these days, so many people decides to establish themselves rather than working for a company. This is most times caused by increase in unemployment rate and the probable demerits are lacking business ideas and mismanagement.