Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years the number of people who are willing to run their own business has increased significantly. However, being self –employed can be beneficial, there are still some downsides.

Due to the economic recessions around the world, a lot of companies are either shutting down or making redundancy. So the fear of being unemployed, has motivated people to run their own small business which are usually profitable without much investment. Another reason, is the flexibility of the hours. While Companies usually require their employees to work at least eight hours a day or even more, which is often frustrating. Running your own business individual can decide when to start and when to finish without any pressure.

On the other hand, failure is also likely when people run their own business. We are living in a highly competitive world and one way of running a successful business is encouraging advertisements of the products with eye-catching design and packing that usually comes with a high price. .Therefore Small business are unable to keep up to date with these changes because of the shortages of money despite the high quality of their products. As a result they cannot compete and eventually lose customers.

In conclusion, I believe the advantages of being self –employed outweigh the drawbacks if people are experienced and knowledgeable.