Nowadays, many people decide to have their first child in their later life. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an increasing rate of individuals who decide to give birth in their later life. The justifications for this trend are varied, and from my point of view, the benefits are overshadowed by the drawbacks.

There are manifold reasons for the rising trend of childbirth delay among today’s population. First of all, people nowadays tend to prioritize their careers over their parental role. To be more precise, in most developed countries around the world, civilians choose to achieve financial success before becoming parents since they want to guarantee fulfilled living conditions for their offspring. Another reason for this is that many individuals, especially youngsters, are aware of unwanted custody after marriage due to the alarming divorce rate. While the number of premature marriages is more likely to rise in today’s fast-paced world, marital harmony between a couple has a higher tendency to decrease. This results in divorce, and their children have to live without fatherhood or motherhood.

Nevertheless, the drawbacks of this trend significantly outweigh its merits. Research has shown that the older an individual gives birth, the more likely that child has to suffer from physical and mental health issues. As a result, the future workforce quality will probably decrease. In addition, delaying childbirth is responsible for the alarming rate of infertility among old-aged mothers. Elaborately, their health will be gradually ruined over years, although they still play a vital role as the efficient workforce in society.

In conclusion, career prioritization and awareness of the serious consequences of a high divorce rate are the main reasons for childbirth delay, and I confirm that the disadvantages definitely overshadow the benefits.