Nowadays, many people decide to have their first child in their later life. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In our modern society, there is an ongoing trend that people choose to bear children later in life. This development can be attributed to financial burden and people’s prioritisation on career development, and I firmly believe that this could have positive implications for child-rearing.

There are several compelling reasons for delayed parenthood in today’s society. First and foremost, most young parents are struggling with financial instability, which makes it difficult for them to provide basic necessities for themselves, not to mention their babies. This, coupled with the escalating cost of childcare, education and medical services nowadays, could put a huge strain on young couples, and trigger their postponed childbirth accordingly. Financial hardships aside, work commitment is also a driving force behind late childbearing. Some individuals have a tendency to invest more time on pursuing their career, and having children could be a major distraction. For example, doctors are often occupied with the colossal workload at the hospital, which deprives them of time on nurturing a child if they give birth at an early age.

With the aforementioned reasons, I acknowledge that the advantages of this trend are justifiable. First, as people allocate more time to establishing their financial stability and attaining their career advancement, they can afford high-quality services for their children. To illustrate, parents can provide their offspring with proper education and top-rated medical services, which ensures a better life for kids in years to come. Moreover, the older people become, the more experienced in bringing up children they get. Such hands-on experience could assist them tremendously in raising a well-rounded kid. In contrast, lack of experience in young couples could be the precursor to poor parenting skills, which exerts a detrimental impact on children’s development.

In conclusion, delayed childbirth could be ascribed to monetary difficulties and emphasis on career progression, and I believe that this trend has unquestionably positive impacts on children’s growth.