Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life.

What are the reasons?

What are the effects on society and family?

In recent years, giving birth at later life has become more popular in the community. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which is having a significant impact on both family life and on the community as a whole.

There are two important reasons why having children in late time of life is understandable. Firstly, many individuals consider that building their own successful careers is top-priority. Thus, giving birth and building up a family might have some negative impacts on their job promotion due to balancing their life to concentrate on task achievements. Secondly, delaying childbirth could give young people countless opportunities to enjoy their lives as much as possible. For example, instead of setting aside money for daily expenditures for infants such as clothing or food, they could earn more money to purchase luxurious jewelleries or travel around the world.

However, this tendency could have negative consequences in terms of both family life and society. The first impact is that raising children could be a huge challenge for older parents. Despite these parents might have high socioeconomic status as well as experience and knowledge, but they might find difficult to communicate with their children due to the large generation gap. Another negative factor is that getting pregnant after 35 years of age oftentimes carries more potential health risks. Specifically, this could increase the danger of having a miscarriage or stillbirth for older mothers, and babies might be at greater risk of having Down’s syndrome. Consequently, this could negatively affect the quality of the future workforce.

In conclusion, there are some known reasons for this trend. As a result, there could be negative influences on individual families and the society at large.