Nowadays more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the phenomenon that adults have a tendency to have offspring later in their life. There are some reasons for this tendency, and it could have some impacts on family life as well as society.

A few causes can be given to justify the trend of delaying parenthood. Firstly, concentrating on occupation is the root cause of this phenomenon. In fact, parents want to develop their careers in order to have a higher standard of living.Take my parents as an example, they worked for about seven years so as to double their income before deciding to give birth to me. Secondly, children need to be raised with better education by older mothers and fathers. Indeed, when they get older, they are often more experienced, mature and responsible for raising children; therefore, life skills and social knowledge can be effectively taught.

The trend exerts both advantageous and disadvantageous influences on society and families. On the one hand, kids are likely to become a useful citizen to society in the future when their old parents can ensure a better life for them. In fact, children can have enough knowledge from many different fields in order to make their country or homeland more prosperous.On the other hand, family life is disturbed and disordered. This is because there are risks to women’s health in the period before and after childbirth or women can die after having children with a high possibility, and then family members do not control and solve it thoroughly, so the family life can be ruined.

To conclude, the tendency to postpone childbirth is caused by a number of factors, namely parents’ pursuit of their careers and the good foundations for children’s growth, and having children later can have both positive and negative effects on families and society.