Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

In the todays’s world, there has been an accelerating trend that in most countries the governments tend to develop living standard through economical then it may lead to the potential disappreance of core value of societies in future. While this trend is benificial to some extents, I am firmly of the opinion that the shortcomings are more significant.

There are some advantages of enhancing citizent’s living standard by focusing on ecomnomic. In terms of education, if schools are supported by the government, they could be fully-equipped with top-notch facilities to increase the quality of teaching and studying. For example, with the introduction of computer and artificial intelligence, the transmission of knowledge to some US students could be more efficient by using live examples on the internet. In addition, the medical treatment could be significant improved. The scientists and doctors might have a chance to carry out experiments to find new medicines. Thanks to financially support from the Viet Nam government, scientists in Hanoi Medical University succesfully discovered a new accination which help people suffering from cancer elements on the initial period.

However, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of developing economic are serious, far outweighing the advantages. The primary reason is that the gap between the poor and the rich may become more clearly. It can lead to the imbalance in the right of low-income people. In some developing countries, Poor people could be shortened career opportunities if they do not have strong family background. Moreover, due to the growth of transnational tourism, some local cultures can be disappeared in attractive destinations. For instance, people in Sapa which is one of the most famous mountainous tourist attractions in Viet Nam tend to totally use english rather than their mother tongue.

All in all, I personally believe that economic development is associated with serious drawbacks that far outweigh the benefits could be gaind such as living standard improvement.