Nowadays most people learn academic study in university, but others think we should encourage to learn vocational skills more, do you agree of disagree?

University is the predominant institution to cultivate the employees for companies. Thus, the curriculum set in the university directly impact if the students are suitable for a particular job and can accomplish the job well. Some people deem that more professional and vocational skills should be taught in campus which should substitute the academic study. As far as I’m concerned, the academic study should maintain the dominant position in the curriculum, but vocational skills could occupied more parts accordingly.

Initially, we ought to acknowledge that the academic is essential and significant for everyone, especially for those who want to become the engineer. The expertise taught in the academic class like maths and physics is the foundation of many career including architecture, program, etc. Except the professional knowledge needed in the workplace, the academic also can train our thought which influence the method we solve the problems. Math can make our thoughts more logical and history can be a reference when we confront with some similar problems which have happened in the past.

However, only master the academic knowledge is not adequate for some jobs. When choosing the suitable employees for job like managers which request more experience rather than the knowledge, the companies prefer to select those who have job experience or the job training, which means if there are more vocational skills taught in campus, the students will be more competitive than peer.

In conclusion, both academic and vocational courses are inevitable for students. Such courses can pave a way for students. Thus, the university should keep providing academic study and at the same time set more vocational skills courses.