Nowadays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists instead of locals.

Why is this happening?

What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

In the modern era, foreign tourists tend to visit historical places and museums more frequently, in contrast to local citizens. This might be attributed to the lack of historical background about the value of these sites among locals. Thereafter, educational curriculums should include a comprehensive knowledge about history of their country that encourage the citizens to visit those valuable sites.

Generally speaking, the main reason why many people did not interesting in visiting local museums and historical spaces is the insufficient education. It is well-known fact that most schools and universities did not give the optimal attention to the history subjects, which in turn discourage students to visit these precious places. Subsequent to that, local people could not know the potential contribution of their ancestors to the civilization, which lead to loss of passion to see their creation.

To overcome these challenges, a higher concern to the history curriculums should be given. In particular, the local municipalities should impose inclusive educational programs to encourage local citizens to visit the historical places. Besides that, these programs must aim to prepare qualified guides to enhance the historical background of the local citizens. If the governments do not establish such programs, new generations may lose their history.

In conclusion, the issue of encouraging local people to visit the historical places will continue to demand our efforts. The lack of historical background may be the primary cause of such problem; thereafter, the local authorities should employ a universal program to tackle the negative repercussions of this issue.