Nowadays museums have become more and more important. What are the purposes of places such as museums and how should they be funded?

The significance of museums is ever-growing and they are becoming an integral part of our culture. I believe these places have educational values and there are various ways to fund a museum.

To begin with, the principal role of museums is education. More specifically, the purpose of any exhibition should be to teach visitors something that they did not previously know. Usually, this means that information about the exhibited items should be clearly explained, and this can be done in various ways. Some museums employ professional guides to lead their visitors through galleries, while other museums offer headsets so that visitors can listen to a detailed documentary about the exhibition. In this way, museums definitely play an important role in teaching people about various aspects such as culture, art, history, and science.

The financial support for museums can come under many forms, but I strongly opine that they should be funded by governments and self-earned income. Governing bodies can allocate their national budget to constructing new museums, renovating museums’ out-of-date facilities, collecting ancient artifacts or art masterpieces for display. By providing financial incentives to museums, a nation can preserve its cultural, historical, and even religious heritage. Moreover, galleries can earn revenues from admission fees, selling souvenirs in gift shops, bookstores, or through leasing museum halls for the organisation of other social events.

In conclusion, I believe museums hold remarkable educational functions and they should be financially supported by the governments as a way to protect a nation’s traditional values and through many activities of the museums as well.