Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. Why? Effects on society?

Nowadays, it is observed that the attendance of science majors in tertiary schools is inadequate. There are a host of factors attributed to be the causes of this phenomenon and this trend might have some ominous impacts on society.

On the one hand, a vast array of causes has contributed to the prevalence of this tendency. The first reason stems from the knowledge that individuals find difficult to obtain . For example, when studying quantum mechanics or chemistry in universities, pupils usually confront with the obstacles in gaining a deeper insight into the principles of particles and equations. These contents might discourage the spirit of learning and motivate students to abolish these courses. The second reason is that it seems to be very hard for a person studying scientific majors to be recruited for a high-paid occupation since the information of these subjects is impractical when it comes to appliance. Therefore, many corporations or employers prefer to employ those studying courses which are the demands of society like information technology or marketing rather than those attending scientific disciplines.

On the other hand, this trend is fraught with pitfalls due to the detrimental bearings on society it may bring. Firstly, if tertiary students are prone not to choose scientific curriculums, there will be a lack of breakthroughs and inventions in science. To illustrate, but for the judicious decision to study physics of Tesla, there would not be the existence of alternating current, which humans leverage every day. Thus, in years to come, the development of the modern civilisation will slacken. Moreover, this trend could trigger the shortages of scientific professors and teachers in universities. As a result, subjects relating to science will vanish from education systems in the near future if humans do not have any proper approaches in order to tackle the issue.

In conclusion, admittedly, there are plenty of reasons considered to be the incentives for students to refuse to pursue scientific disciplines. This trend may be unfavorable to society unless authorities and experts propose feasible measures.