Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

These days, people have a tendency toward studying subjects such as economics, finance etc. rather than science subjects. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which have significant impacts on society.

There are several reasons why there is a shortage of people choosing science subjects. The most obvious factor is that science is not invested properly by the government, which leads to the fact that the salary of scientists is lower than that of people in other sectors. Thus, student might choose to study other subjects that are thought to bring them more lucrative income after graduation. Another factor is that science subjects are challenging and require a deal of intelligence so learners have to put an immense amount of effort to accumulate knowledge in this field. However, not everyone has a deep passion and enough patience to study.

The problem of lacking students studying science subjects might have some negative impacts on society. One significant problem is that the rate of unemployment might experience an increase. Apparently, as students tend to choose other majors such as economics or business, these fields may have an excessive number of employees and there might be not enough work for everyone. Another issue is that the economy might not develop sustainably. If science field lacks high quality human resources, the number and quality of discoveries to have higher productivity and environment friendly products could be not enough for the growth of the countries.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why science majors lack learners and this trend is detrimental to the development of the society.