Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.

What is the reason for doing this?

Is this a negative or positive development?

Most parents desire their children to earn more money and be successful in their future job. And, these parents sometimes urge their children to do things which children do not want. There are several reasons why people pressure their children. In my opinion, however, this is not positive.

One of the main reasons why parents pressure their children is that people want their children not to have any difficulty in their life. To be more precise, parents might have difficulties and not succeed in their life. That is why they want that there are not any difficulties in their children's life as they had. Another reason is that some parents may envy their friends' children. By this I mean that some parents like to talk to their friends about their children's achievement or talent. As a result, parents who hear other children's success try their children to be more successful than others.

On the other hand, to have pressure from parents all the time is negative for children. Although parents want their children to have better life, to pressure is not good as they think. Children may not be happy as long as their parents tend to order what to do things which they do not like. Furthermore, some children would tend to follow their parents. In other words, children may not have their own opinions, because their parents do not allow them to make decisions.

In conclusion, parents want that their children do not have difficulties in their life, so they try to do the best for this. I think that pressure is a negative development, since this does not allow children to find their own way.