Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

There has been a colossal upsurge in discussing the topic of the reliance of people on advanced technology for their leisure activities at the present day. In spite of the convenient and useful features that come from cutting-edge technology, I personally content that is more detrimental. In this essay, I will cite some appropriate points about this issue before my justifiable conclusion is reached.

In the midst of the computer-driven era, it is apparent that this development has had a huge impact on people’s pastime activities. First and foremost, instead of executing outside activities, modern people have a vocation for sitting in front of the computer screen and doing more desk jobs. These negative habits could degrade our eyesight and heinous diseases such as obesity, and cardiovascular ailments,.. even lead to a sedentary lifestyle. Secondly, due to the multifunction of technology, everything could be done with a few clicks. It is evident that this trend might convert people to become couch potatoes and deter our creativity and application. Thirdly, children and youngsters might lose the meaning of life because they don’t spend time exploring the outside world and lack knowledge related to leisure activities. To illustrate, according to BBC newspaper, people in the present day are less flexible and active than in the previous era because of this reliance.

Considering the diverse effect of this trend, thanks to advanced technology, people could have more time to savor and enjoy more paradigms of free-time activities. It is undoubted that people make use of the electronic commercial to go shopping online and have a chance to choose a variety of items. People are no longer hanging outside, which means we could limit some thorny problems such as the high level of carbon footprints, traffic congestion, etc. Moreover, varied entertaining models from bleeding-edge technology might foster people’s development and even help people save their money for a rainy day. To cite an example, instead of splashing our money to call and message our beloved ones in our spare time, we could take advantage of virtual apps such as zalo, messenger, etc in order to make video-call with our relatives and friends without any fee.

In conclusion, two sides associated with everything: one affirmative and one negative point. It all comes down that modern technology is beneficial for humans whereas it still exists some setbacks. Although the prodigious advantages we could gain from this trend, I wholeheartedly opine that the cost related health issues and potential of harming interpersonal relationships that we need to pay outweighs the merits we can get.